Photo credit AFP/Wakil Kohsar

The Future of Journalism in Afghanistan: A Fundraising Event

On September 30th, ReNEWS will hold a special event, “The Future of Journalism in Afghanistan”. Generously sponsored and made possible by AFP, one of the world’s leading news agencies, the event will be a 75-minute conversation among five amazing guests, with Q&A from viewers from around the world.

Our guest line up:

We have three aims for the event.

  1. Explore the future of journalism in Afghanistan. What’s the situation now, what might it be like under the Taliban in the immediate terms, what might we expect in the coming months/year(s)?
  2. Look at the mental health needs and assess how traumatized journalists and media workers (who have left the country) are going to get the much-needed help of mental health professionals.
  3. Address the question so many of us ask every day, How can I help? And the answer to that is straightforward: You can help raise money to provide mental health support.

Next week, we will announce our charitable organization partner, who will ensure that EVERY SINGLE PENNY raised goes toward helping Afghan journalists.

THE EVENT IS FREE TO ALL WHO WISH TO ATTEND, thanks to the generosity of AFP.

We hope people will consider donating to the fundraising effort, but all are welcome and a contribution is not required.

REGISTER HERE

https://hopin.com/events/crisis-in-afghanistan/

SEPTEMBER 30, 2021
10:00 ET/15:00 GMT/16:00 CET
ALL ATTENDEES MUST REGISTER.

Writer.